Pausing Prints

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    callum
    Participant

Hi,
    I’m new to 3D printing so sorry if this is a bit of a novice question, but I’m part way through an 11hr print and would like to pause it whilst the office is empty.
    Is it possible to turn the power to my Sigma off after I have paused the print?
    I.e. will the Sigma heat up and continue to print where it left off after I power back up and hit resume tomorrow morning?

Thanks in advance,
    Callum

fred_dot_u
    Participant

Certainly if you power off the printer, it will lose track of the progress you’ve made and begin afresh. As an extreme possibility, you could press Pause, then Settings and reduce the temperatures for the nozzles and the heated bed. The nozzles would likely cause no problem when you are ready to restart, but if you reduce the temperature of the heated bed, the model printed thus far would probably release from the bed.
    For the first time since owning my printer, I used blue painter’s tape, in order to get the PVA support material to bond to the bed. When the print was done and had cooled, coincidentally overnight, it was still well bonded to the bed. If you are determined to interrupt a print task, perhaps that will provide an option.
    Of course you would not want to power off the printer and you would want to ensure that it suffered no power interruption overnight. I have a UPS to keep my printer safe from surges and power drops.